Saturday, May 30, 2009

"Rakkaus on kuin churrot ja suklaa"

Wow. Lots of time has passed and lots has happened.

Today was the last day of school. It was weird to see only 6 people graduate since last year the number was around 300. Small school small school :)

We had a waterpark day on thursday.. I feel like such a child, it was so much fun!

This period exchange was great. I've seen so many new places and met many new people. In addition I've learnt a lot more about myself. I've learnt not to go running around alone on a friday night out. I've learnt to mind other people, not just myself. I've learnt to be careful.

It's a shame that I'm leaving now that I've just started to really like it here and gotten to know people. I love walking at the beach in the evening. I love walking to the breakwater and sitting there.
During these 2 months I've had energy. Energy to do lots more than just see friends and do school stuff. I've started to exercise and have found my ways of it. I love swimming, which I've always known, but I think that's something I kind of re-discovered. I love to go jogging at the beach in the evening. Running in the sand without shoes. The feeling of your feet sinking in to the sand, the sound of the waves hitting the beach and the smell of the ocean. Even if it sometimes smells like rotten fish. I love it.
I love swimming in the dark. the view from our pool to the mijas mountains is just amazing at dark!!
Also chilling alone has given me peace.

I've had bad times, like I got really sick after getting back from Granada and I was so scared of swine flu. I don't think I've ever been as scared as I was that night that I couldn't fall asleep because of the thought of hospital quarantine.

Today is the end of year party and tomorrow is my last day here. Monday is the start of traveling.
I will be traveling for the next four weeks. I'm excited yet scared. I will be updating.
I have lots ahead of me.

Te quiero <3

Monday, April 20, 2009

Gibraltar, Puerto Banus, Torremolinos :)

Heloo :)
Time is passing very fast!! since my last entry, i have gone through different markets, gotten to know people, gone shopping, been lazy, partied..

We took a day trip to Gibraltar this saturday :) We planned it like last week and all of us were looking forward to it. On saturday morning, right when we were about to leave, we came across a problem. The car we were gona take didn't have its insurance papers or vehicle license. Obviously we couldn't take it because if we got stopped at the customs, they would take the car.. So, we ended up taking Henna's mum's car, an old citroen saxo, very small with poor brakes. The five of us; Me, Sarkku, Max, Henna and Niko squished in the tiny car. The car didn't even have a working radio :D So we took a cd player which worked with batteries with us :D it was red and small, we were so gangstahhh with our tiny car without any music. hahahahah.
Through difficulties, we finally left.

We didn't get further than 2 kilometers when something happened. We were talking and our driver was a bit distracted. Traffic lights turned red and the car ahead of us stopped. Max brakes and the car just slides ahead. Me and Henna were sitting at the backseat and we watched the car slide ahead. Will the car stop? No, it won't. Shit. Those seconds were slow motioned.. :D hahha
We "crashed" to the car in front of us. :D Followed it and the guys went out to check the situation. Nothing happened, both cars were good, the kids inside the other car were of course freaked out ..
This turned out to be kind of funny because we tried to stop and our speed was very slow :DD
we continued our journey safely to the chinese shop to buy batteries for our cd player ;))
the route to gibraltar was pretty senic :)))
We had three drivers, switched in the middle and the guys left us and wen't driving by themselves for a while ;) I guess Niko had to get a hold to saxo, the steering wheel was hard to turn ;DD It was really funny, the guys drove windows opened with our little tape recorder out the window with full volume. hehehhehe.
Our car made the weirdest noises. When we parked it somewhere along the hill at gibraltar it sounded like the engine was still running. and this man who was parking his car glanced at us... it was like hey kids ur cars gona explode.
Well, we were happy that saxo could go up :) heheh
What next.. APES! :) soso cute!! first we got to an area where most tourists dont go so the monkeys there were more kind :) we all got one on our shoulders and the monkeys hugged our heads :) on our way down Sarkku mistaked to take out her banana. A small monkey smelled it and attacked her :D it tried to open her bag without succeeding so it ended up just pulling her hair. :D it was hilarious. One of the apes hit me when i tried to pat it :(...
But seriously, the apes were crazy, if you open the trunk of your car they would jump in and look through your stuff.. they sit on the side mirrors of your car while you drive and some people even feed them at the same time

I was very entertained of the apes facial expressions!! something you cant describe with words. Looking through the photos we took still makes me laugh..
In addition to seeing apes we went to a castle and a few caves. My friends got tax free cigarettes and brought more across the border than is allowed to ;D lucky for them we didnt get stopped at the tull.
On our way back we stopped at Puerto banus in Marbella. Its a port where the rich keep their boats. The seaside restaurants bars and cafes are all very expensive and the stores are brands such as D&G, Gucci etc...
I SWEAR we saw Mr. Bean!! I swear to god it was him. We walked past that boat 4 times to be sure.
Sain uuden nimen talla matkalla: Merisairas antilooppi :)) I wasnt sick at all, i guess i just sounded like one.

I love churros. They are so delicious.
I learned alot about myself last weekend. I am way too kind to people I dont know, not everyone means good..

Sarkku and I took a trip to torremolinos on monday :) since neither of us has alot of school.. ;DD
We got a ride from my host mothers real estate agent. it was so random!! He dropped us off at the centre and we went to an info point and started looking for the train station just to know how much we would have to walk on the way back.. well we stood there for a while and decided to look for it later..
We checked out the beach, main street, tried to reach tourist centers without succeeding. Torremolinos is very nice i liked the plazas there :) we had late lunch at a plaza, theres nothing nicer than sitting at a terrace eating and enjoying good company :)
We noticed that the station we were looking for earlier was behind the info point we were standing at then.. oh god, there was a huge sign, TORREMOLINOS, printed with letters the size of a cat and also a picture of a train.. ;DD

The things that I miss are the strangest.. The thing is that when you leave, youve goot good friends who you know will be there when you get back and youre aware of it that you will miss them at some point. So i guess then youre sort of prepared for it. But when you miss someone you didnt know you were gona it feels a lot worse.

Ive finally cut my hair :) feels good to look like a human again!!!
aaahhh i really wana post photos!! Dont have internet at home so thats kinda an issue.. wellwell.
this weekend i will go to Malaga and hopefully Benalmadena :))

a luego amigos!! <3

Friday, April 10, 2009

Nyt on kesa <3

Holaholaaaa!!
This place is so chill. Everyones like naaah mañana. Tosi mañana meininki!! I like it :)
Settling down is happening pretty smoothly :)) school for only two days this week because of easter break :)
The easter parades they have here are magnificent!! The ones i saw yesterday in Malaga were even bigger than the ones here in Fuengirola.
last night in Malaga was so much fun. I love it how strangers come together and start talking :) Me and Sarkku met some local teenagers :) They struggled with their english and we struggled with our spanish.. hehehe.
and this man who sold raffle tickets was yelling at us but turned out to be funny :D
after getting tired of being squished and standing for hours, we continued to a cafe to taste churros :)) so good!! And the camarerooos... :DD hahah I like their reaction to young people and the way they communicate with customers :D this older guy first yelled at us because we were constantly on his way and he ended up joking with us and telling us how crazy people were :D
and a younger one was just very cute, probably the sexiest man ive ever seen. he winked at me ;DD harhar..
anyways parades were good, i love culture!!
spent yesterday at the beach :)) and planned lots of things we are gona do here :))
me and my friend will go eat a churro brecky on sunday!! looking forward to it :))
lovelove

Monday, April 6, 2009

estoy aqui <3

Holaaaa!!
heheee :))
at the moment I'm sitting outside in the sunshine :) I have no idea what the temperature is, all I can say is that it's very hot outside.
I got here on friday night :)) Met some Americans on the way.. Tommy, James and Mickey :D so Americans... and hopefully my new friends will come and see me here :))
I think this is when you realise that you travel too much :DD hahaha I was so bored on the way here :)

Anyways, so on my first day here I looked around. Fuengirola is a nice small town and the nightlife is said to be good. Me and Sarkku chilled at the beach on my first day here :)) The water isn't warm yet so we haven't swam.
I really haven't done much, I've just enjoyed the weather. Yesterday was the start of semana santa (the holy week, its how the spanish celebrate easter). And we tried to find a parade. Parades during semana santa are very traditional. Apparently people carry statues weighing like hunderds of kilograms. Well I ended up just walking around the city which was also interesting :) I'll go to see a parade later..
We were briefed about the pocketpickers here.. Seems like it's very dangerous around here. I'll be lucky if I still have all of my stuff at the end of may..
I've met quite many people :)) people here are very receptive and nice :) and there are so many new people!! so me and sarkku aren't the only ones.. I just met 5 guys who live together by themselves.. came here for this period to go to school and party..
I'll have very little school here.. hehehehheee on mondays only one hour :D
3 and a half cources in total and 1 and a half independently :))

Abrazos y besos para todos,,

Tiina <3